I’m starting my 3L year of law school next year … eek. In the grand scheme of things it is not huge news, but in the small bubble that is my life it is everything. I’ve been working towards this moment since that historic day that I walked into my pre-K class; bows in my head and patent leather on my feet.

The craziest thing about this upcoming year is that I will be at FIU Law and not LSU Law. The scariest thing about this upcoming year is that I have to find a job. Maybe visiting at FIU Law isn’t all that crazy. I want to work in Florida so I should be in Florida. Florida is better than Louisiana; Miami is better than Baton Rouge; no rent in Miami and $1050.00 in rent in Baton Rouge. Pretty easy decision. Let’s move on.

A job; are you joking here? I’ll be 24 in 3 months. Am I even old enough to be a practicing attorney?! I am excited about no longer being in school. [School sucks; don’t do it.] I know what type of law I want to practice; Immigration. That’s a good start, I think. But, where do I want to live? Do I want to work in a medium-sized firm or a small firm? Do I want to open my own firm? Do I want to work for USCIS? What am I doing? But, this is what I want to do, so I have to do it.

I want to help aliens immigrate to the U.S. This country was built on the fed up Europeans taking land, this land, that they wanted and claiming it as their own. Why should things be different now? You want to be a U.S. citizen … cool … let’s do this! I have been working a lot with Immigration Law and learning more and more each week. I love it. It is such rewarding work. Of course, there are nuances, as with any area of law, but that’s what keeps it exciting. As the laws on Immigration change more and more aliens are going to need the help of knowledgeable Immigration attorneys. With my INA on my right and the Internet on my left I am ready to do my part to contribute to the greater good of society.

It’s the 4th quarter with 1 min. left on the clock of my formal education.  Whether I run straight, left, right, pass or hand off  this last yard is what counts. I’ve got too much swag not to win this.

